SerenDestiny #70: Am I Waiting for My Real Life to Begin?

“Any minute now, my ship is coming in
I’ll keep checking the horizon
And I’ll check my machine, there’s sure to be that call
It’s gonna happen soon, soon, soon
It’s just that times are lean

And you say, be still my love
Open up your heart, let the light shine in

Don’t you understand
I already have a plan
I’m waiting for my real life to begin.”

Colin Hay, partial lyrics from “Waiting for My Real Life to Begin”

Are you waiting for your real life to begin?

Want to look at that from a different point of view?

Watch this 49 second video of Avril – a housekeeper at the Radisson Blue Resort and Spa in St. Martin.

Avril could be telling herself the story that her life sucks.

She’s been a housekeeper for 15 years.

She “scrubs toilets and cleans up other people’s messes for a living.”

Avril could be hoping that “someday her ship will come in” and she’ll get to do what she really wants to do.

But that’s not the story Avril tells herself every morning she comes to work. It’s not what she believes and it’s not what she perceives.

As shared in this spontaneous video, Avril feels LUCKY to have a daily chance to make other people happy.

Here’s the context.

I was in my room following a conference. I always add a day when I travel for business so I can immerse myself in the beautiful surroundings afterwards and write, write, write without the distractions of being back in my office.

I had on my playlist and James Taylor’s Secret of Life came on.

Avril started singing along as she made the bed.

Then Colin Hay came on with his powerful song Waiting for My Real Life To Begin.

Avril said, “Oh, this is my music” and started singing along to that too.

I said, “Avril, you are such a delight to be around.”

She said, “Oh that’s my job. I love my job. I get to spread happiness every day.”

And that’s exactly what Avril does.

Avril told me that Tom, a member of our group, had gone to the front desk to ask if his two friends could be switched over to her “Marina” section of the resort so they could experience her.

Avril is a walking-talking example of SerenDestiny.

The light’s on in her eyes. And because it is, she puts the light on in other people’s eyes as well.

Avril isn’t waiting for her real life to begin. It begins every morning she opens her heart and looks forward to going to work because she knows she’ll have opportunities to make other people’s day.

How about you?

Are you still waiting for your ship to come in – for your “real life” to begin?

Or are you an Avril?

Leave a comment