SerenDestiny #58: A 100 Days of Summer: Let’s Hear it for Libraries and Used Bookstores

Music: Smile Channel on Pandora

Movement: Walk around Lake Anne Farmers Market and lake circle walk

Musings: Notice the EAT SLEEP READ sign in one of my favorite places in the area – RUBS (Reston Used Book Shop on Lake Anne)

That sign brought back warm memories of growing up in a small town, New Cuyama, in Southern California.

We had more horses than people.

In fact, I rode my horse to the library to get books.

Really.

I’d ride bareback. Who needs a saddle when you’re 10 and have been riding since you were 5?

I’d tie my horse Joe outside, while I went into the cool, one-room library and tried to find something I hadn’t already read.

In those lazy days of summer, I might as well have had a sign in my bedroom that said, EAT. SLEEP. RIDE. READ.

A big part of who I am today is because I read non-stop growing up.

My folks always told me you’ll never be lonely as long as you have a good book. They were right.

I have the double the pleasure, double the fun these days. If I’m not reading a good book; I’m trying to write one.

Reading is one of life’s great joys. Here are a few favorite quotes about what a blessing it is to be swept up into new worlds – anytime we want.

“Books are a uniquely portable magic.” – Stephen King

“Books are the plane, the train, the road. They are the destination and the journey. They are home.” – Anna Quindlen

“Reading is the sole means by which we slip, involuntarily, often helplessly, into another’s skin, another’s voice, another’s soul.” – Joyce Carol Oates

“A reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only one.” – George R. R. Martin

“What a miracle it is that out of these small, flat, rigid squares of paper unfolds world after world after world, worlds that sing to you, comfort, quiet or excite you. Books help us understand who we are and how we are to behave. They show us how to live.” – Anne Lamott

“Reading is to the mind what exercise is to the body.” – Joseph Addison

“Books are no more threatened by Kindle than stairs by elevators.” – Stephen Fry

So, what does this have to do with SerenDestiny?

Movement – music – musings – memories – all contribute to a life where the light’s on in our eyes.

So, on this fine summer day, wWhat music did you play? When did you get outside and move? What were your musings? What were your fond memories?

Leave a Reply

