SerenDestiny #52: Is the Light On In Your Eyes?

I was talking with Sam, a contractor, who’s working on my home. He noticed I was tapping away on my computer and asked, “What are you working on?”

I told him, “My SerenDestiny® book.”

He asked, “What’s that?”

I told him, “It’s when we’re leading a life where the light is on in our eyes.”

He brightened up and said, “My 8 year old son, Ryan, is like that every day. From the moment he gets up, he’s bright-eyed and raring to go.”

I said, “That’s right. Most kids have the lights on in their eyes, and then somewhere along the way, they get talked out of it. ‘Pipe down. No running in the house. Come inside now. Don’t say that.’

After awhile kids learn to talk and walk on eggshells. They start second-guessing everything they say and do and the light goes out.”

“So, what can we do about it?”

“Start looking for what and who puts the light back in your eyes.”

“Is it really that simple?”

“It’s a good place to start. Because it’s a tangible way to tell when we’re genuinely happy. When we’re doing what we love or when we’re around someone we love, we’re ‘lit up.’ That’s when we’re happiest. For that moment, everything is right with our world.

If you want more happiness in your life, just ask yourself, ‘What puts the light on in my eyes -and do more of that. Who puts the light on in my eyes and reach out to those people and spend more time with them.”

“That’s all there is to being happier?”

“There are other elements that play a role … that we may not be able to control.

For example, you may not have a job or you may not love your job or who you work with or for. You may be having health challenges. And you may not be in a position to change those.

But you can change what you do with any spare time you have. And if you fill that time with more of who and what you love, you counter-balance what’s ‘wrong’ with your life with what’s ‘right.'”

For example, I read an article in the Washington Post about Ann Romney (yes, the wife of Republican presidential candidate Mitt Romney.) http://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/style/for-ann-romney-horses-are-a-lifeline/2012/03/09/gIQA3MF25R_story.html

Ann was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis more than a decade ago. How did she deal with that diagnosis? She returned, at age 50, to what she once loved as a girl growing up in Michigan…riding horses.

(And let’s not make this about politics. Regardless of your political party, everyone has the right to happiness … a right to a life where the light is on in their eyes.)

Ann said, “I was losing most of the function of my right side. And I decided to go back and do what I loved, before I couldn’t do it anymore.”

Ann went on to explain what riding means to her and brings to her, “Horses are my lifeline. They feed my soul and they feed the thing I need, which is to have quiet time, balancing time, exercise and everything else that is part of my therapy for staying strong.”

What’s your lifeline – your therapy for staying strong? It is as straightforward as asking yourself, “What used to put the light on in my eyes? Who used to put the light on in my eyes?”

Then, bring those activities and individuals back into your life. Your eyes – and life – will be brighter as a result.

One response to “SerenDestiny #52: Is the Light On In Your Eyes?

  1. okay, i’m in love.
    THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!! amy

Leave a Reply

