SerenDestiny #50: Jog Your Memory to Be All You Used To Be

I jogged today …

for the first time in a long time …

and it all came back.

The rhythm,

the flow,

the heightened sense of awareness and appreciation for my surroundings,

the feeling that I was doing exactly what I was supposed to be doing …

getting outside in nature and moving and breathing and sweating.

I used to be an athlete.

For 40 years, swimming, playing tennis, running and riding horses defined me.

It was who I was … what I did.

Then, for a variety of reasons, I stopped.

At this point, it doesn’t matter why I stopped ..

what matters is I’ve started again.

What matters is it feels so right and I make it a daily part of my life.

I am a jogger.

It is who I am.

It is what I do.

It is my way of celebrating life …

and celebrating the fact I have the freedom and blessed health to get outside and move joyously.

I am a jogger.

Who did you “used” to be?

What used to define you?

What are you going to do today to become that person again?

3 responses to “SerenDestiny #50: Jog Your Memory to Be All You Used To Be

  1. Thanks for this Sam. I used to be very active – and simultaneously, very creative and positive in outlook – when I was in my 20s and 30s. Somehow, little by little, I “calcified” in my 30s and 40s. Now my butt is a barnacle on a desk chair and I have lost myself. Reading your post set off a spark in my subconscious. I was never an athlete…but the physical activity was crucial to sustaining the energy that allowed me to paint, write, sing, act.

    Keep writing about what it means to reconnect with this part of yourself, please.

    I adopted a dog recently so I’d have a walking buddy. She’s an old dog, but she still wishes i was faster! She’d prefer to run. So would I….right back to my creative self, right out of my cubicle.

  2. I used to be fearless… I used to just go for it, assume that the rules, for the most part, weren’t meant for me. I used to give because it felt right… Time to return to home. Ty! Jog on! Much love, Misti Burmeister

  3. Sam,
    Lat night I went to hear Charles talk about The Power of Habit… seredestiny for me to hear it when I started going up and down the Sausalito steps with 2 friends…. daily.. what a poetic post – thanks

Leave a Reply

