SerenDestiny #41: If You Don’t Ask, The Answer is Always No

“Ask for what you want. The worst people can do is not give it to you which is precisely where you were before you asked.” – Peter McWilliams

A dear colleague, Dr. Caitlin Williams, traveled to my home on the lake recently to spend the weekend so we could strategize her book and map out a compelling format and Table of Contents to help it break out.

It was a beautiful fall day, so we went for a lake walk to Gratitude Bench to steep ourselves in nature and jump-start our creative juices.

While sitting there and drinking in the green/gold splendor, I told her about the time I was thinking about how much I missed my walking buddy and a voice said, “We can’t do anything if you complain. You have to ask.”

Aaahhh.

So I asked, “Could I please meet someone who lives nearby, has a dog that gets along with Murph and does work similar to me so we can talk shop while we walk?”

I walked out my front door, and lo and behold, 50 yards down the sidewalk, stood Robin, an entrepreneur with her (as she calls him) Golden Recliner. And yes, we enjoyed many delightful walk-talks in the following months.

Ever since then, if I find myself thinking about what I don’t have; I turn it into a question and ask for what I’d like to have.

After sharing this with Caitlin, I mentioned the “good omen” blue heron who lives on our lake. I always feel blessed to see him, however weeks often go by without a sighting.

No sooner had I said this when it occurred to me I had lapsed into the default of “complaining.” I immediately rephrased it into a request, “Could Mr. Blue Heron please put in an appearance?”

Guess who flew over our heads 60 seconds later?

And no, I’m not making this up. You CAN’T make this stuff up.

What are the odds of that happening? Of our good luck charm being in that part of the lake at that particular moment– just as we requested a fly-by?

Have you been missing something? Could you reframe that into a request and ASK for what you’d like to have, see or experience?

Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love said, “Every day you wake up, ask yourself, ‘What do I really, really want?’ You have to say really, really’ otherwise you won’t believe it.”

Miracles happen when we ask for what we really want.

I’m speaking from experience. As many of you know, I had a significant birthday this summer and decided it was too important to me to be left to chance.

So, I boldly ASKED for what I wanted – which was to be surrounded by family and friends, all of us happy, healthy and sharing memories.

That’s exactly what happened . . . and more.

Thanks to everyone who flew in for the weekend and for Mary Loverde and Denise Brossueau planning my “This is Your Life Jeopardy Game” at the National Press Club and for asking people from around the world to contribute to my Memory Jar.

If you’d like more details; I’m featuring the Thank You letter I sent to everyone who so graciously contributed and/or participated in my next blog.

Do you have a birthday coming up?

Why not make it the best one you could ask for . . . . 🙂

Leave a Reply

