SerenDestiny #38: Turn Your “To-Do List” into a “What I’m Looking Forward To” List

“I am in love with hope.” – Mitch Albom

I am in love with what today and tomorrow may bring.

Living with anticipation and hope – instead of with dread and fear – is a hallmark of people who are living their SerenDestiny.

SerenDestineers have identified what they’re good at (what puts the light on in their eyes) and they’ve taken responsibility for wrapping their life around that.

I am a big fan of Chris Guillebeau’s thought-provoking book and blog – The Art of Non-Conformity:  Set Your Own Rules, Lead the Life YOU Want, Change the World.

Chris consistently asks his readers to a) think about what really matters and b) keep that front and center in their life.

The essence of his philosophy is (and I quote):

1. You don’t have to live your life the way other people expect you to.

2. You can do good things for yourself and help other people at the same time.

3. If you don’t decide for yourself what you want to get out of life, someone else will probably end up deciding for you.

4. There is usually more than one way to accomplish something.

Amen.

I’m excerpting part of Chris Guillebeau’s Aug. 18th blog below.

You may want to subscribe to Chris’s blog so you can continue to be treated to his always intriguing words of wisdom on how to have the clarity and courage to lead the life YOU’RE meant to lead. 

The below is from Chris . . .

“It’s a fairly self-explanatory question: what’s coming up in the near or faraway future that you’re excited about?

I’ll start.

In the short-term, I’m looking forward to getting home from another long trip. It’s been fun, beautiful, thrilling, and exhausting. I live on the edges and sometimes they catch up to me. But that’s OK, because I’ll be happy to do it again soon.

In the medium-term, I’m looking forward to completing everything for my book manuscript. I recently wrapped up draft #3 and sent it to my friendly editor in New York. Now I’ll do another draft and some line-edits before wrapping up and moving to the next phase. I’m extremely excited about planning the launch, another book tour, and everything associated with it.

In the long-term, I’m looking forward to continued learning. I feel I have grown a lot recently, but there’s so much I still want to experience. I believe there is a connection between living and learning: if we fail to learn, we aren’t truly living. Therefore, I want to keep challenging myself whenever possible.”

(This is Sam again . . . ) 

Isn’t this is a great re-framing of a To-Do List?

It changes the energy around it from dreaded “have-to’s” to delightful “want-to’s.”

I’ve got an idea. 

How about we each make up a note-pad with these three categories? Then, every morning we create a fresh “What I’m Looking Forward To” list and post it on our refrigerator so we keep our good intentions “in-sight, in-mind?”

What I’m Looking Forward To in the:

Short-term:

Medium-term:

Long-term:

As the day gets busy, we can glance at it to stay centered in and focused on what’s important instead of frittering away our time and talent.  Sound good?

Here’s mine for today . . .

What I’m Looking Forward To in the:

Short-term:  Sending a thank you letter (with photos) to everyone who made my birthday at the National Press Club last Friday so special.  Several of you spent weeks planning the Memory Jar, Jeopardy “This is Your Life” Game and flew in from around the country.  It was the PERFECT birthday and I will always be grateful.

Medium-term:  Talk with my editor about the pub date for The Eyebrow Test:  Intrigue Anyone in Anything in 60 Seconds and plan the ramp-up for the launch and media tour.

Long-term:  Create a cleaner, classier website that more accurately communicates what I do so site-visitors receive value and “get and want” how we could work together in a way that serves all involved.  That includes finding and working with just the right, in-integrity designer who has the ability to produce a highly-professional, visually-appealing, SEO’d, results-oriented  site that thrills me and everyone who visits it.

Leave a Reply

